Only owners can add or remove users on a Google Business Profile (GBP); managers can only remove themselves.
Owners and managers have similar permissions, with managers unable to remove the profile or manage other users.
To add or remove users, go to your GBP settings, select “People and access,” and invite or remove users based on their access level (Owner or Manager).
The primary owner is the first person to claim a profile and can transfer ownership to another user, but cannot remove themselves without transferring primary ownership.
New owners have limited access for the first 7 days, unable to remove the profile, manage users, or transfer primary ownership during this period.
If you are a business owner or a marketer who manages Google Business Profiles (GBP) you must know how to add and remove owners and managers of your GBP.
Before we dive into the instructions to add and remove listing managers, here are a few key concepts to be aware of.
Only owners can add or remove users.
Managers can remove themselves from a profile.
Each person can have their own access and they don’t share sign-in info.
Click Menu and then Business Profile settings and then People and access.
At the top left, click Add.
Enter a name or email address.
Under “Access,” choose Owner or Manager.
Click Invite.
Tips:
Invitees will have the option to accept the invitation and immediately become users. When they accept the invitation, you’ll get a notification email. Users in the account can find the names and email addresses of the owners and managers.
You can find all active users and people who are invited to become users. To cancel pending invitations, click X in the row.
The person who creates or claims a Business Profile becomes the primary owner. The primary owner is the first user on the profile.
While each Business Profile can have multiple owners, it can have only one primary owner. And a Business Profile must always have a primary owner.
However, the role of primary owner does not have to remain with the first user on the profile; primary ownership can be transferred to another user.
The primary owner cannot remove themself from the Business Profile without first transferring primary ownership to another user.
The primary owner has the same permissions as all the other owners of a Business Profile, with one exception: only the primary owner can transfer ownership of the profile. In fact, when a business is sold, the primary ownership of the Google Business Profile should be transferred to the new owner.
How to Remove a Manager/Owner From Google Business Accounts
If you’re wondering how to remove a manager from Google Business profile, you can revoke their access through your Google Business Profile settings. Follow these steps to remove a manager from your profile:
Sign in to the Google account that owns or manages the Business Profile.
Open your Google Business Profile and select Business Profile settings.
Select People and access.
Find the manager you want to remove.
Select the user and choose Remove person.
Confirm that you want to remove their access.
If you can’t click Remove X, it could mean that:
You’re trying to remove the primary owner from the profile. Transfer primary ownership to someone else, then remove the user from the profile. Learn how to transfer primary ownership.
You’re signed in as a manager. Only owners can remove other owners and managers.
If you remove a user, they’ll get an email notification. They can’t edit business information or take any administrative actions. But their past responses to reviews, posts, comments, and other actions will remain.
Restrictions On New Owners & Managers
Business Profile owners have two permissions not given to managers: they can remove profiles and they can manage users. However, when first added to the profile, owners have limited access to these two sensitive functions for seven days. During this first week, new owners cannot:
remove the profile,
remove other users, or
transfer primary ownership.
Attempts to perform any of these three actions will trigger an error.
Colan started in the local SEO world back in 2010 and is also deemed a product expert by Google as a Top Contributor on the Google My Business Forum. He is a contributor to Moz’s famous Local Search Ranking Factors survey and is a former Google MapMaker Regional Lead. Read Colan's full bio here
This is a question I get pretty frequently in the Local SEO community: What URL…
This Post Has 6 Comments
Great info. We learned the hard way to make sure that you’re not removing the last user on a profile. The entire profile disappeared and was unrecoverable when we did.
Great info. We learned the hard way to make sure that you’re not removing the last user on a profile. The entire profile disappeared and was unrecoverable when we did.
As far as I know there is no way to view owner/manager info in bulk on individual listings, that data is not downloadable in Google’s “download businesses” feature. You need to go into each listing to check.
As far as I know there is no way to view owner/manager info in bulk on individual listings, that data is not downloadable in Google’s “download businesses” feature. You need to go into each listing to check.
Great info. We learned the hard way to make sure that you’re not removing the last user on a profile. The entire profile disappeared and was unrecoverable when we did.
Great info. We learned the hard way to make sure that you’re not removing the last user on a profile. The entire profile disappeared and was unrecoverable when we did.
For accounts with many Google Business Profiles, is there an easy way to figure out (in bulk) which profiles have other managers/owners?
As far as I know there is no way to view owner/manager info in bulk on individual listings, that data is not downloadable in Google’s “download businesses” feature. You need to go into each listing to check.
For accounts with many Google Business Profiles, is there an easy way to figure out (in bulk) which profiles have other managers/owners?
As far as I know there is no way to view owner/manager info in bulk on individual listings, that data is not downloadable in Google’s “download businesses” feature. You need to go into each listing to check.